How to Remove Contact From WhatsApp But Not From Phone.
WhatsApp uses your mobile device’s phone book to build your contact list. and shows your profile in the app. Cool feature until you get stuck with it at worst. Let’s say you want to delete contacts from WhatsApp, but not from the phone book. What’s your option?
Only remove the contact from WhatsApp
There are many reasons why you want to do this. You exchanged numbers with a plumber or electrician, but you don’t want to receive New Year messages or watch their stories on WhatsApp. Or you just ended a long relationship (how are you holding on?) And now you want to delete his / her number from WhatsApp, but not necessarily from the phone book. You do not want to delete the number permanently, otherwise you will never be able to contact them again. But getting updates or messages from them can be difficult, if not inconvenient.
I went straight to the WhatsApp site hoping they had a solution, but they just advised me to delete the contact from my phone. Typical! I do not want to delete the number of my friend, with whom I no longer speak.
Method 1: Block them on WhatsApp
WhatsApp offers a feature to block a user. This means that the user will no longer be able to see your profile, status update, last visit information or message and call you, but the user can still call and text you using other messaging and phone applications. That way, you guys can still call each other if needed without having to receive unwanted updates or messages.
Find the name you want to block and open a chat window. Click on the three dots in the upper right corner of the screen. There is an option “View contact”. Click here.
Scroll a little and you should see the red blocking option. Click it and confirm. You made.
Blocking someone on WhatsApp does not mean that they will remove the user’s number from your WhatsApp. His name will still appear in the search, but you will no longer see history updates and will no longer receive messages and calls from them.
If a person you blocked tries to call, he will hear the call, but he will not reach you. You won’t even see the blocked call notification. The call will be automatically terminated some time after the call, and the blocked person will see the “Not available” message. If he had not been blocked, he would have seen the message “Call not answered.” This is a good way to find out if you have blocked you! More importantly, the user will not be able to view your profile, profile photo, or other account information.
Method 2: Save the number as a note (not in the SIM card!)
There is a Quora thread that suggests transferring a contact from Google memory / phone to SIM to fix this issue. This method no longer works due to a recent update in WhatsApp that prevents you from changing the way WhatsApp displays contacts.
Of course, you can download and install an older version of the application, but then you will be left without additional features such as WhatsApp Payment and other security updates released after this version. Not recommended.
To counter this situation, I decided to edit the contact and save the number not in the number field, but as a note. Thus, WhatsApp will think that the number has been deleted and will not show you any updates. If you’ve taken care of your privacy settings, the plumber will no longer be able to see your profile because technically you haven’t saved their number. But you must save the number under the correct name so that you can find it in the contacts app when the time comes.
Do you know any other way to delete a WhatsApp number or stop seeing history updates or receiving messages from a contact? Let us know in the comments below.